Resisting Little Moments of Folly

23 Jan

Sometimes, the right choice is so blatantly obvious…just as God says –- “显而易见”…

Yet, man sometimes just cannot delay gratification, but often indulges in little moments of folly, which led to unwarranted unhappiness…

I was thankful God let me made the right choice yesterday…

Well, some people say that when one is busier, one also tends to let loose more easily…

‘cos for whatever amount of energy we exerted, we sometimes require the same amount of ‘relaxation/pampering’ to recharge ourselves…

So when we are busier, or sometimes for me, when I alternate too much between work and leading church meetings and having too much “spiritual” talks/sessions with people (i.e. the ‘heavy’ and meaningful stuff), I also tend to crave all the more to do worldly things…just to relax my mind, satisfy my desires abit, be left alone to do the things I enjoy, absolutely without the need to entertain anyone, or try too hard to maintain the ‘spiritual image’ people had of me…

So yesterday, I was sooooo tempted to go shopping after prayer meeting ended at 7 pm…I felt I hadn’t had a hearty shopping session for so long…I tried finding excuses for myself…I need to buy presents, CNY stuff, spend my tons of shopping vouchers, etc etc…

Yet, I’m also secretly abit scared that I will be unhappy after the shopping…After all, it does seem abit ‘pathetic’ to be shopping alone on a Sat nite…what if I bump into people? It’s going to be abit embarrassing –  to spend sat nite alone…Moreover, if I shop alone, I will have no dinner…cos there’s no way I would eat alone on a sat evening in town…So I know if I proceed with my shopping plan, I may end up being unhappy, with all the unnecessary ‘pathetic’ thoughts sneakily creeping in… Furthermore, while shopping is not any ‘big sin’, it’s clearly not God’s will for me to shop after prayer meeting ‘cos I still gotta translate the sermon outline for Sunday service and I shouldn’t sleep too late on a sat nite, since I have to wake up early the next morning…

Yet, the shopping craving was still very strong…

As I’m trying very hard to decide what to do after prayer meeting, God suddenly spoke to me “why are you thinking so hard? Isn’t the option obvious enough? Here I have prepared for you a big group of bro/sis to eat dinner with you, keep you company and give you joy…why do you keep thinking about your own interests, own plans, own ways? Why do you want to 自找麻烦 (create trouble for yourself) when I have already planned the best for you? You need not be unhappy and alone on a sat nite, if only you don’t resist my plans for you!

So it is not that I don’t have (nice things), but whether I want to obey God, and thus enjoy His blessings…

But many times, silly me will think that obedience requires me to give up some of my ‘happiness’…

Yet, I fail to realize that happiness actually comes only when I obey!

Even for such a simple matter, it’s a tough battle for the weak and typical me…but in the end, I submitted somehow…and dinner was especially joyful yesterday evening…the rest of the night was also fruitfully spent…

I would have spent an unhappy Sat gratifying my desire, with an additional accusation of disobeying His will; OR I would have spent blessed and joyful time in the activities God prepared for me…Thankfully, God made me resist my little moments of folly 🙂

Very often, we heard people saying, 早知道就好了 (if only I had known better)…”, after they willfully go ahead with their own plans and subsequently regretted, cos things didn’t turn out as well as they had hoped…

And usually, we would also think that what God wants us to do seem so utterly boring, not exciting and not matching to our hearts/desires, UNTIL we somehow submitted and thus tasted the goodness…then we will say 还好 (thank goodness) I obeyed!”

In the past, I had more cases of saying “早知道”, cos I’m more willful and there were more things I couldn’t let go of…And thus, I also went through some “training” from God to help me realize that no matter how right I seemed to be, my own ways (without consulting God) will always make me regret somehow…and no matter how ‘unpalatable’ God’s ways seemed to be and though I need to try so very hard to choose His way instead of mine, it’s always proven that His ways will always make me happier in the end than my ways! So over the years, I started to have more of “还好 I chose God over my feelings/thoughts/desires!”

I pray that we will always have more of “还好我听从了主” than “早知道我听从主就好了”…

God’s word in James 4: 7-8 is absolutely true:


2 Responses to “Resisting Little Moments of Folly”

  1. Teuton January 24, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Glad that you had a blessed dinner after prayer meeting, can tell that you are happily eating a bit more even though it’s in small and warm coffee shop. ;p

    • huijun1910 January 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      oh what does Teuton mean? u change ur ‘name’ again…
      oops…am I eating so much that u even notice though u sat in the other table…

Leave a Reply

