A “Wow” Scene after Every Tunnel

16 Jan

That’s what my Europe tour guide kept repeating on the 12-day trip I had in Nov 2010. He said it at least 3 times every day and urged us not to sigh whenever we passed thru’ a tunnel, but to anticipate the breathtaking scenery that would always follow. That was one of the things I vividly remembered from the trip. At first I thought he was exaggerating. How is it possible that a beautiful scenery would definitely await us after every tunnel?

But true enough, he was right, in Italy & more so in Switzerland…So my tour group was conditioned to feel excited (instead of bored) each time we entered a tunnel..

This seems to resonate with how 2011 began…

For my church, some of us faced some unexpected struggles at end 2010…

I mentioned Dec is my favorite month, but in Dec 2010, I had to visit 3 critically ill parents of church friends, attended a funeral and for myself, I had a very very big quarrel with mum on Christmas day! What a way to spend Christmas! Then fever for 2 days during new year and faced some challenges at work…The usually joyful Christmas month seemed to be a little ‘gloomy’…

Seemed like a bad start to a new year…but I remembered this analogy of ‘blessings’ after every ‘tunnel’…and true enough, God never fail those who trusted and hoped in Him…Take for example the 3 critically ill parents, one was discharged, one received salvation before going home to the Lord and one was on path to recovery after going through near-death encounter…

Through these, God trained me to learn using spirit to handle every situation, instead of reacting rashly by flesh…In fact, this had been my most frequently prayed contents these first 2 weeks of 2011, especially on the way to work every day…

Perhaps I have been too “pampered” at work last time…everything was smooth, everyone favored me, it was not that busy too…

But now I think I get to understand better why some people dread work…

Yes, because of the changes at work, I do not look forward to going to work so much…

And it was tempting to quit, especially when 2 seemingly good job offers from larger organisations (one each in 1st 2 weeks of Jan 2011) unexpectedly came without me searching, one of them even asked me 3 times to consider…but of cos I know that’s surely not God’s will…


I am quite weak-willed, which I thought is more typical of women (as compared to men).

When faced with an unpleasant situation or uncertainty or something that seems impossible to achieve, between “fight” and “flight”, I would almost certainly choose “flight”…

But God’s voice is that I must fight this typical trait, instead of always choosing the easy way out & wanting God to lift me out of undesirable circumstances…

The prayer to use spirit to rule over everything is always effective. Especially in my work, it changes:

     

  • Busyness to manageable stress
  • Differences to harmony
  • Irritated faces to smiley ones
  • Awkwardness to comfort
  • Dreadfulness to anticipation
  •  

Applying this prayer always let me see the beautiful sight (God’s transformational work on people & circumstances) after every tunnel (the initial irritation or attacks from Satan)…

Though of lower rank, I can even influence my boss’ mood & decisions, when my spirit is right…

And I realized my new boss and colleagues are also quite nice too, at least not as difficult as I imagined…

So I need not get too worked up when my boss says I can’t go church or when my staff gives attitude again or when the workload gets too much…the right spirit can change everything and make it work for the good of God’s loved ones…

And from the 2 unexpected job offers, God seems to tell me that if He wants to give us another job, a life partner, happiness, success, etc (i.e. if God wants to lift us out of an issue/problem), it’s actually very easy for Him & it can happen very fast, at a time we least expect it…

BUT if He wants us to remain in our current conditions for a while longer, cos there are still some blessings that we haven’t acquired/learnt in the journey, can we wait first?

Yes, the waiting process may seem unpleasant, but our loving God will surely not let us go through the process in vain…the process is as important as, if not more important than, the end outcome…’cos God carefully plans our every step…

Reaching the final outcome/destination would have no much meaning, if we didn’t grasp God’s perfect will & voice in the process…So what if we finally have a successful career, happy family, wealth, etc? The joy of reaching that destination will only but last for awhile…after that, new boredom and challenges will come…

If we are not closer to God, or do not master a set of answers/spiritual insights, or learn to put down our old self and rebuild God’s new way of the Spirit in the process, then the power/happiness/contentment of our lives will not improve much, even after getting what we wanted…


Just like on the tour bus to a certain destination, we will find the journey long & weary if we keep awaiting to see only the final destination…but if we care to pay attention to the sceneries outside the window, we will realize that the beautiful scenes keep changing…If our cameras are not ready, we will miss those scenes. Likewise, if our hearts do not seek God in the current journey we are going through, our hearts cannot register all God’s grace/voice/blessings prepared for us in the process…

Whether we are sleeping or awake in the coach, we will still reach the final destination (i.e. blessings God will faithfully preserve for His loved ones –  when it’s time to be successful, God will make you successful, when it’s time to form family, God will let you meet your love, when it’s time to be healed, God will heal you, etc), but the one who sleeps will miss all the pretty scenes God prepares for us during the journey…& thus go thru a painful waiting process, though he will still get what God sets aside for him in the end…

Sometimes God allows us to go through tunnels in our lives, but He will prepare the beautiful sight/light at the end of the tunnel…there’ll always be His rainbow of promise after the rain…

As long as we do not stop walking (with God), we will emerge from the tunnel one day…into a beautiful end that’s worth the tunnel’s walk.


2 Responses to “A “Wow” Scene after Every Tunnel”

  1. Jingwen January 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    a “WOW” entry 🙂
    We are enjoying the scenery now while many others are surrounded. Cant wait for the day to attend your wedding. hehe.

  2. Jingwen January 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    OMG. i MEAN ASLEEP. damn auto correct.

Leave a Reply

