同班同学

19 Sep

Hmm..it really don’t feel too good when you can only bite on one side…food became not so tasty…oh and I can’t drink my favorite bubble tea nor enjoy French fries! 😦

Well, I just did root canal for my tooth last Friday…so can’t bite hard stuff for another 3 weeks…heh…perhaps it will help if there are tasty porridge around…

As I reflected upon what happened last Fri, it reminded me of this “同班同学” analogy that a pastor mentioned some years ago…that  其实,基督徒不需要太过兴奋或灰心因为 太过兴奋 太过灰心都是同班同学……‘骄傲 自卑也是同班同学”.

“When you feel too high or too down about something not within Christ, you are being deceived…because both ‘excitement’ and ‘discouragement’ are classmates, so are ‘pride’ and ‘inferiority complex’…”

Ok, last Fri started out very well…my mood was happy, I reached office not only on time, but early (I had not been punctual for a long time)! My boss’ mood was good, the morning meeting went very well and I was super productive in the short 3 hrs at work…

I thought it would be a beautiful day…

Then the next moment, but just for a few minutes, I suddenly felt I’m the most pathetic person…when I had to stand alone in super heavy downpour for a long 15 minutes (yes, the short 15 mins really felt like very long), outside my secluded office trying to wait for a cab …I must have looked like a fool trying to prevent my filmsy umbrella from flipping upwards, my skirt from flying while at the same time trying to find free hand (as if I still have a ‘third hand’ that did not need to hold umbrella and press skirt) to dial for a cab…worse, dunno why my phone suddenly did not have any dial tone..so couldn’t even call cab!…but just have to keep waiting for cab at the roadside…with truck after truck that kept honking at this silly-looking woman…

Well, that’s just a typical example of how things can turn from good to bad in split seconds…early morn was still in high spirits and late morning was in frustrated spirits…all determined by the outward circumstances that I was in…

So, I said I only felt pathetic for a few minutes…

‘Cos I remembered I should preserve my spirit regardless of circumstances…

So did a quick prayer to remind myself that the God who was with me in the beautiful early morning was also within my spirit during the stormy late morning

So very soon a cab miraculously appeared in front of me…

I reached the dental clinic…

And though the whole root canal surgery took longer than expected and I had more injections than earlier informed (supposed to be only one but I had 8 jabs!)…yet, the miracle was, I did not feel painful at all…during and after the surgery! This was definitely contrary to stories I heard from people who did root canal, telling me it was very painful…


Too Excited Vs Too Discouraged

The little story on Friday reminded me that there is really no reason we should be excessively excited or discouraged about…besides, the good and bad circumstances in our lives change all the time…

We need not be discouraged ‘cos Christ is always with us and He is mighty to save <Zephaniah 3:17>…

We need not feel over-excited ‘cos any excitement/joy not derived from Christ will not last anyway…

In fact many a times, we realize that the thing that makes us excited may be the very thing that brings us disappointment, discouragement and frustrations later on, if not centered on Christ…

E.g.: We felt excited that God answered our prayers to give us happy families, but the very children and husband that made us thankful and excited previously may bring us disappointments or worries when they start being naughty and reveal their ‘true colours’/weaknesses after marriage, if our eyes are only fixed on them instead of Christ…OR we feel happy that we are able to bless someone with God’s word and s/he is uplifted in spirit, but if our ultimate perspective/heart is not placed upon the Lord, we will feel discouraged the day we saw the person we blessed drift away from God and lose his/her faith…etc etc…

There’s a quote from Rick Warren (author of Purpose-Driven Life) which I like:

“Life is kind of like two rails on a railroad track, and at all times you have something good and something bad in your life. No matter how good things are in your life, there is always something bad that needs to be worked on.  And no matter how bad things are in your life, there is always something good you can thank God for. You can focus on your purposes, or you can focus on your problems.”

He said this when his wife was having cancer & when he became instantaneously rich from selling 15 million copies of his books…2 contrasting situations, but his spirit is “neither too discouraged nor too excited”…

I guess if Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever, then there is actually no reason why we should be excessively excited or discouraged, if we delight ourselves in Him…


Too Proud Vs Too Inferior

Likewise, “Pride and inferiority complex are also classmates”…

If anyone is too proud or too inferior, he is similarly being deceived…

There is no reason for anyone to be proud or feel inferior, when we stand before God…

<Jeremiah 9:23-24> writes:

This is what the LORD says:
“Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom
or the strong man boast of his strength
or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this:
that he understands and knows me”


<Proverbs 22:2> says:

“Rich and poor have this in common: The LORD is the Maker of them all.”


<Romans 3:23-24>:

”For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”


<Psalms 127:1>:

“Unless the LORD builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain.”


So can a sinner stand proud before righteous God? Can a created being boast to His Creator, when his tomorrow is not even in his hands <Proverbs 27:1>?

Or should an already redeemed person still feel inferior in front of His Savior? Doing so would have trampled on God’s saving grace & be a greater sin!

When I gained some achievements, blessed someone or resolved some problems, should I be proud? Isn’t this possible because God allows it? It’s entirely God’s doing, not ours! <1 Corinthians 4:7 – “For who makes you different from anyone else? What do you have that you did not receive? And if you did receive it, why do you boast as though you did not?”>

And when I fail or still in the midst of some struggles, should I feel lousy/inferior? Does not God have a perfect will and make all things work for the good of His children <Romans 8:28>? Does not God still see me as precious in spite of all my weaknesses and problems?


Too Simple-Minded Vs Too Analytical

Hmm…sometimes I received mixed feedback…

Most people said I’m too naïve and gullible…very blur…and not knowledgeable enough…

But also quite a number of people said I tend to ‘think too much’ (especially when it concerns worrisome issues or being too sensitive to people’s words, emotions and expressions etc)…

Honestly, I did worry before about whether people will look down on the gospel I believed in ‘cos they may think that whatever a gullible person believes in is not the real truth…so I guess God gives me a 2nd Upper Honors purely for His kingdom’s purpose…so that there will at least be some credibility in whatever I say or believe in…’cos people will know I’m not an entire fool after all…

Yet, I have to admit that I am not as competent, intelligent, street-wise, creative, eloquent, knowledgeable, etc than many who do not even have a degree…so I cannot boast too…Thus, God gives me just sufficient wisdom for His purpose & kingdom!

Sometimes I also struggle between whether I should analyze issues a bit deeper or have childlike faith and see things more simply…

But again I realize that it is not about being complex or simple…but being Christ-centered

If Holy Spirit prompts me to think deeper (especially about things important to God), then I will ponder more…e.g. If I need to think deeper about a bro/sis’ life in order to give him/her clearer prayer topics or spiritual advice…

If Holy Spirit asks me to trust God with simple faith, then I don’t crack my brains over those matters…e.g. what to eat, drink, play, career, who like or dislike me, etc…

So, any brilliant analysis without God in the picture is pointless…

Yet, blind faith without testing and approving God’s perfect will is also futile…


Prosperity Gospel Vs Hardship Gospel

Some Christians subscribe to either ‘prosperity’ gospel or ‘hardship’ gospel…

Again, both are being deceived…

‘cos God never wants to give us unnecessary hardship, nor does He want us to aimlessly seek after blessings in mystical ways, without meeting Him…

It is written in <Proverbs 30: 8-9>:

“Give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.

Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.”

God merely wants us to acknowledge Him in all our ways…to yearn for the Giver, rather than the gifts He can give

So the conclusion? Again, quoting Rick Warren:

God should be the centre of our lives!

So I pray that I will not be too easily excited or discouraged, not too proud or too inferior, too simple or too complex, have too much or too little…but that I will meet God at all times, in all conditions!

One Response to “同班同学”

  1. overcomethecurse September 20, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    Great post. This was what I wanted to post awhile ago..

Leave a Reply

