The Shift

6 Sep

Today is our first service at glorious new church premise! Amazingly, the entire renovation plus cleaning/unpacking can be completed within just 2 weeks…and it coincides with our annual Thanksgiving Service, together with baptism of 5 blessed brethren…so timely 🙂

Finally able to pen down some thoughts after abt 2 weeks of packing for both church & office shift, which took place at the same time…tiring…but God’s voice still within…

Hmm…usually I’m not an active “thinker”…shifting church just means shifting of location…no special meaning beyond that…

Until few weeks ago when Pastor started to re-focus our perspective not only on the mere physical shift, which actually has no significance until we link to God’s work & perfect will in our lives…

I also forgot about it until Pastor reminded us at prayer meeting 2 Saturdays ago (28 Aug)…
When we shifted into our previous premise in 2006, a number of us were facing some real struggles in our individual lives and at church level too…and of cos, I was cited as one example…

So well, many know that 2006 was like the saddest point of my life…it was a ‘horrible’ year…I moved into that Geylang church premise in Sep ’06 with a heavy heart, laden with millions of questions of why God permit certain things to happen to His blessed church & children who have been faithfully following Him and questioning when He will set me free from recurring struggles…
I still remembered when I helped out in the packing & cleaning that time, it was with a somewhat burdened heart…

So 4 years had passed….and this time round, it is completely different! 🙂
With a light & cheery heart, I joined in the church relocation packing/cleaning…
No question in my heart about God’s love & blessings…’cos it’s proven over the years, He will and is blessing me already…

Today during church lunch, a relatively ‘new friend’ asked me how I can always be so happy…and how to switch from daily stresses/unhappiness to joy so fast…of cos I told her this requires a ‘journey’ too…

When I was in it, I may not have realized how or when the transformation took place… But when I looked back, indeed God had turned all problems into blessings, all ‘sorrows’ to joy, all weaknesses to strengths…So last sun, during the last service at old premise, Pastor again quoted my example of how God amazingly not only healed me, but use me too…and thanks to him, now I’d successfully become ‘older’, with people older than me also calling me “big sister”…

So yes, the prayer that Pastor kept asking us to pray about is to leave the past weaknesses, failures, sorrows, problems, etc behind at the old premises……and embrace new beginning, new dreams, new hopes, new happiness at this new premise…

Yes, so we will forget the past and press on toward the goal Christ sets for us <Philippians 3: 13>…God has a new timetable for us and the church…

I also have this conviction from God that for the next 3 years in this new premise, God will give me rewards…experiences that are different from those in the previous journey…the feeling is like “those who sow in tears will reap with joy <Psalms 126:5>”…I believe one or two of my life’s major milestones will also take place during the tenure of this premise…well, it’s not that very difficult to guess what that (those) milestone(s) is/are 🙂

Ha, a sister has been trying to ‘prophesy’ for me recently…but I think I don’t need ‘prophecy’ gift, but I already know my future is blessed and joyful…cos God is faithful…
He is always rewarding me…but I can feel more coming 🙂

I think this song is apt to describe the thanksgiving & hope we have toward God:

永远不变的应许,这一生都是祝福!
一步又一步,这是恩典之路

你爱,你手,将我紧紧抓住
一步又一步,这是盼望之路
你爱,你手,牵引我走这人生路


2 Responses to “The Shift”

  1. Jehovah Is My Healer September 6, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Amen to what you’ve post! 🙂

  2. sophia September 7, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Yeah lor!! Who needs prophesizing? I also can! I know you’ll continue to grow and prosper in all areas, and you’ll bless tons and tons of people like you have already blessed me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

