Smile Back at God

20 Feb

Can anyone smile when he is angry or sad? What happens if someone really does smile when he is feeling down or angry? You want to be happy again? It’s very easy, really, just smile back at God! Smiling at God will melt all your stubborn frustrations or accusations!

This week I’m extra busy…have to work overtime almost every day & still have to write reports, do presentation slides late in the nites…not only this week, next week will be very busy too…there’s like so many things to do in office & for church.…But this week I kept hearing this voice: “smile back at God”…the word “back” suggests that God has first smiled at us & we just need to respond back!….& the verse in Psalms 42:5 kept coming back: “我的心哪,你为何忧闷,为何在我里面烦躁。应当仰望神。因他笑脸帮助我,我还要称赞他。” I prefer the Chinese translation, cos it highlighted God’s smiling face at us…but anyway, the English version is “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

I then recalled that sometimes I’m frustrated in office with the busy workload…much as I would like to remain at my desk & immerse myself in the busyness and try to clear as much work in shortest time, sometimes I have to leave my desk for the washroom…..Then carrying a heavy heart & mood, I made my way to the ladies, but on the way, I bumped into my colleagues…what do I do? I smiled…suddenly I had to put my frustrations aside & I smiled at my colleagues, cos it is rude not to do so…And amazingly, every time after I smiled, my mood grew lighter & I would return to my desk feeling better…I didn’t do much, I merely just smiled…

I also remembered how last time I used to admire my sister, who had a way of getting away with things when she could make my mum smile even when my mum was already super angry with her…I dunno how she did it…but every time my mum wanted to scold her for misbehavior, she would distract my mum, made her laugh & after that my mum got no more mood to scold or punish her…hmm…actually sometimes when I felt angry with someone, the same thing, if that person somehow managed to trigger my smile, once I smiled, then that’s it, I couldn’t be angry anymore, I couldn’t even put up an ‘angry’ front, once that smile slipped from my expression…

When we let go of the sour mood & forced a smile, even if that smile is forced out initially, I think the whole mood & atmosphere just changed…for the better…

Likewise, for our spirits, sometimes we felt sorry for ourselves, we felt angry with God & with man, or we felt hurt, disappointed or accused cos of our weaknesses or we felt tired due to busyness…BUT if we would just turn away from all these & smile back at God, all these forces of darkness will collapse & our hearts will be softened & touched by God’s love once again….I remember my pastor told me this few months ago, which really touched my heart..he said, 如果你向上帝心软,上帝也必定向你心软的” (if you soften toward God, God will also soften toward you)…”Soften” toward God, in that I want to believe in Him again, love Him again, without letting my emotions or Satan fool me, then God will also reward me with the contentment in my spirit…

This is just like 一样感恩的事会带来10感恩的事” (the heart to give thanks for just ONE thing will bring about 10 other things that will make you give thanks)…The opposite is true too, when we grumble about one thing, when our mood is like that, very soon, we will realize that there are 10 other things that frustrate us & make us grumble….heh, sometimes, I’m stubborn, when I’m angry with someone, I deliberately make sure I do not smile, for I know I will ‘lose’ if I smile…just like when I tired or down, I do not want & have no mood to ‘smile back at God’s smiling face’…but God has taught me the easy way of coming out from unnecessary darkness…just look at God’s loving eyes….and…..smile! The smile at God is just like a tipping point that will ‘break the ice’, break the ‘curse’ of tiredness & lousy mood & accusations……..If we can smile at the camera even when we feel tired or a little unhappy, why can’t we simply just smile to God?

God is smiling at us right now, let’s start smiling at God today! 🙂

3 Responses to “Smile Back at God”

  1. MF February 20, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Thumbs up for this post! Smiles indeed drive away the force of darkness that deprive us simple joy in this hectic world.

    I appreciate the smile that some gave – the feeling of silent encouragement, appreciation and knowledgement that i am there. I do exist.

    “Frown and you frown alone, but smile and the whole world smiles with you.”

    • huijun1910 February 20, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

      oh i like the quote u put here 🙂
      no wonder the Bible also says “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones” — Proverbs 17:22

  2. liwen4lcm February 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    yea, i’m learning to smile at others too even though i don’t know what to say.. at least i feel better and also make other feels good too… 🙂

Leave a Reply

