V-Day = “Victory” Day

15 Feb

Yesterday was “Sweet Valentine’s” Day…As I said, I’m a very typical girl. And being the typical me, V-day has always been a day that brought me much anticipation ever since school days…..until 5 years ago, when “V-Day” suddenly became a taboo word & much-feared day…What should l do on that day? How should I answer the people who asked whether I have a date? etc etc…

This year V-day coincided with the 1st day of the Lunar New Year…and silly me started to worry about it since weeks ago…You see, my grandma has moved in to stay with me a few months ago…which means to say that all my relatives (a big extended family of 11 nuclear families!) is likely to visit my grandma on New Year’s day at my place on V-day…in previous years, the new year gatherings were always held in my uncle’s place, so when me & my sisters were bored halfway through the visitation, we could make a move first, as my relatives would usually hang around till 1 or 2 am, which was quite late…but if the visitation is at my house this year, I cannot ‘escape’ but have to entertain my relatives till so late in the nite….And because it is also V-day, I had imagined that my 2 younger sisters would go celebrate with their boyfriends maybe halfway through the new year celebration at my house, leaving me alone…with no date, & amplifying the stark contrast that they have boyfriends & me, the older sis of 30 years-old is alone, facing the queries of relatives left and right….Having to entertain 20+ relatives is tiring enough, not to mention having to explain to them why I am still single at this age…just the mere thought of this scenario spoils my mood as 14 Feb approaches…

But frankly, I have witnessed God’s faithfulness through the last 4 V-Days that I had to spend without a Valentine (this year was the 5th year in a row)… I deeply appreciate that ever since my breakup, God made my mum & all my relatives very kind in not asking me anything about relationship nor pressurize me to get married, or make me feel bad about my singlehood…This is great miracle & kindness from God, as my mum and aunts usually probe a lot…and I also know many people who are of same age or even younger than me, face such pressure from family…So God is kind…When I 1st broke up, I was really worried that I would be very miserable on a lonely V-day…but amazingly beyond my expectations, year after year, God was able to keep me meaningfully occupied, some year with my family, some year with my church friends, etc, & all these without me having to make any special arrangement on my own, or without me having to “beg” people to keep me company…every year God just surprised me!…& I never felt lonely actually on V-day…but dunno why I’m still scared that “God will run out of His surprises” in this 5th year…

But God is forever faithful, yesterday, today and forever, His grace never runs out…So what surprises He gave me this year V-day? Well, He proved to me once again that all my fears were unfound, as always the case! In the end, the new year gathering was NOT held at my place but at my other uncle’s house, so I did not need to entertain my relatives till very late. Furthermore, my younger sister did not accompany her boyfriend on V-day but went for late-nite tea with me…we have not had such a long blessed chat for a long time! In short, the Chinese New Year cum V-day this year was very pleasant…I enjoyed the interaction with relatives, no one disturbed me with the questions of marriage and singlehood, & I was not alone….I almost did not remember it was V-day, & everyone besides me seemed to forget that too…

Over the years, God had given me incremental victory over the V-day that often ‘torment’ the typical single girls who crave for a date but have none…so God convicted me that every V-day can be a “Victory” Day in Christ…cos Jesus Himself is my best Lover, His V-Day surprises never ends! He’ll never allow me to feel lonely, with Him by my side! 🙂

4 Responses to “V-Day = “Victory” Day”

  1. sophia February 16, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Heh, romance is overrated…although God will definitely send you one in His perfect time.
    Meanwhile, I think you have so many blessed people around you to love already, hee hee. And so many people who love you back, too! 🙂

    • huijun1910 February 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

      yes, agreed…definitely many pple love me & many more for me to love in return…haha u are one of them! 😉

  2. hooi ching (huizhen) February 16, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Such a blessed sharing. 🙂

    I also want to have such victorious living, hopefully every day! 🙂

    • huijun1910 February 16, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

      u surely can lead such victorious living too, my dear sis…cos ur God is same as mine…& ur thirst in Christ is a sign that God is making you “more than conquerors” too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

